Skip to content

Morgan Freeman receives AFI Life Achievement Award

I normally do not post anything about the entertainment industry… there are enough sites out there covering all that hype.  And, honestly, I do not follow it that closely.  Sure, I love movies, and have some favorite directors and actors, but if you put a list of who the younger popular actors are these days, I most likely wouldn’t be able to guess 25% of them.  The older ones which I grew up with, or have been around for decades – at least many years – are the ones I am more familiar with.

However, in this case, I am posting this video about Morgan Freeman being honored as the 39th AFI Life Achievement Award recipient because he truly is a rare case when it comes to acting.  He has starred in dozens of roles throughout the years, but Shawshank Redemption is the movie where I came to realize how powerful of an actor he is.


When AFI was founded in 1967, one of its purposes was to ensure that “great accomplishments of the past are recognized to the end that the masters of film may take their deserved place in history beside leaders in other arts.”

This objective was clearly achieved through the AFI Life Achievement Award, which was established by the AFI Board of Trustees on February 23, 1973. The AFI Life Achievement Award honors an individual whose career in motion pictures or television has greatly contributed to the enrichment of American culture.

The selection criteria states that “the recipient should be one whose talent has in a fundamental way advanced the film art; whose accomplishment has been acknowledged by scholars, critics, professional peers and the general public; and whose work has stood the test of time.” In 1993, the AFI Board of Trustees extended the criteria to encompass individuals with active careers and work of significance yet to be accomplished. (Source: AFI website)


I simply would like to honor Morgan by breaking my norm and posting the short video of his award night.  He most certainly deserves this award.


Previous recipients (from the AFI website):

Morgan Freeman     2011
Mike Nichols     2010
Michael Douglas     2009
Warren Beatty     2008
Al Pacino     2007
Sir Sean Connery     2006
George Lucas     2005
Meryl Streep     2004
Robert De Niro     2003
Tom Hanks     2002
Barbra Streisand     2001
Harrison Ford     2000
Dustin Hoffman     1999
Robert Wise     1998
Martin Scorsese     1997
Clint Eastwood     1996
Steven Spielberg     1995
Jack Nicholson     1994
Elizabeth Taylor     1993
Sidney Poitier     1992
Kirk Douglas     1991
David Lean     1990
Gregory Peck     1989
Jack Lemmon     1988
Barbara Stanwyck     1987
Billy Wilder     1986
Gene Kelly     1985
Lillian Gish     1984
John Huston     1983
Frank Capra     1982
Fred Astaire     1981
James Stewart     1980
Alfred Hitchcock     1979
Henry Fonda     1978
Bette Davis     1977
William Wyler     1976
Orson Welles     1975
James Cagney     1974
John Ford     1973

Go ahead... I can hear your thoughts. Please share with the rest!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: